Connect

‘Can you hear me?’ a feeble voice said. He went closer to his laptop with his ear towards it.

‘I can…but just barely..”

She continued in the same low voice ‘Oh okay, one sec let me connect my headphones, seems like my laptop mic has deteriorated even more’

‘Oh okay’. His words were followed by muffled noises.

‘Is this better?’ a much clearer voice came through.

‘Yes, that’s much better’ he said with a big smile. He could have hearts for eyes.

‘Where are you now? Can you switch on your video?’

‘Sure, look I’m at our usual spot’ he said as he turned his laptop around and showed her to the quiet little cafe. It was 6 in the evening there, the warm amber from the sun fell on him and his table, like the light was a blanket and he, on a cold night. He turned his laptop around and dusted off the brownie crumbs on his keyboard.

‘Your turn’ he said with eagerness. ‘I look like shit, I don’t think I should’ she said with a little embarrassment.

‘You have literally started quarantining 2 hours ago, are you gonna pretend like you’re not beautiful in every video call for the next few days?’

She giggled ‘Yes.’

Leave a comment